Notre Dame Liturgical Choir


Digital Streaming

The choir is proud to share its newly digital music! Click one of the quick links below to hear the choir's recordings on your streaming service of choice.
Apple Music
iTunes Store
YouTube Music
Amazon Music
Apple Music
iTunes Store
YouTube Music
Amazon Music
Apple Music
iTunes Store
YouTube Music
Amazon Music
The choir's recordings are also publicly available on its YouTube channel. See below for details on each recording and a link to its YouTube playlist!




(contains complete album)

Song List

(scroll for complete collections)


(scroll for complete descriptions)


Sing Unto God

  1. Exultate Justi - Viadana
  2. Christus Factus Est - Anerio
  3. Ave Maria - Vittoria
  4. O Vos Omnes - Vittoria
  5. Jesu, Joy of Our Desiring - J.S. Bach
  6. The Lord is My Shepherd - Matthews
  7. And the Glory of the Lord (from "Messiah") - Handel
  8. Ave Verum Corpus - Mozart
  9. There Shall a Star - Mendelssohn
  10. Heilig - Mendelssohn
  11. E'en So, Lord Jesus - Manz
  12. My Shepherd Will Supply My Need - Thomson
  13. I Was Glad When They Said Unto Me - Parry
Sing Unto God! spans the breadth of the Liturgical Choir's repertoire, from the intricate Baroque motets of Viadana and Anerio to the melodic twentieth century setting of Psalm 23 by Matthews. Included here are choral standards such as Bach's cascading "Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring" and Mozart's brilliantly understated "Ave Verum Corpus." Other pieces are seasonally themed: a song for Epiphany by Mendelssohn and Victtoria's plaintive setting of the Lenten "O Vos Omnes." The compilation ends with Parry's "I Was Glad," one of the most famous cathedral anthems ever written.


Praise Thee, Notre Dame

  1. Messe Solennelle - Vierne
  2. Salvation is Created - Tschesnokoff
  3. Ave Maria - Stravinsky
  4. Blazhenni Yazhe Izbral - Tschesnokoff
  5. I Want to Walk as a Child of the Light - Thomerson
  6. The King of Love - arr. Christiansen
  7. Ain'a That Good News - arr. Dawson
  8. Notre Dame, Our Mother - Casasanta
Praise Thee, Notre Dame, the second recording for the Liturgical Choir, features a Mass written for two organs and choir by nineteenth-century French composer Louis Vierne. The remainder of this collection is a cappe lla, including: a set of three pieces by Russian composers; a contemporary American hymn; a setting of a traditional Irish melody; an American spiritual; and "Notre Dame Our Mother", the alma mater of the University of Notre Dame.


Exultate Deo

  1. Hail Gladdening Light - Wood
  2. Cantique de Jean Racine - Anerio
  3. Ubi Caritas - Durufle
  4. Tantum Ergo - Durufle
  5. Rorate Coeli - Palestrina
  6. Ego Sum Panis Vivus - Palestrina
  7. Sicut Cervus - Palestrina
  8. Exultate Deo - Palestrina
  9. Kyrie - Mendelssohn
  10. Ehre sei Gott in der Hohe - Mendelssohn
  11. Heilig - Mendelssohn
  12. A Hymn to the Virgin - Britten
  13. O Sacrum Convivium - Moore
  14. Let This Mind be in You - Hoiby
  15. Justorum Animae - Stanford
  16. Coelos Ascendit Hodie - Stanford
  17. Beati Quorum Via - Stanford
  18. Ye Choirs of New Jerusalem - Stanford
Exultate Deo is the third compilation of the Liturgical Choir's music. It features mostly a cappella, with sets by Durufle, Palestrina, Mendelssohn, and Stanford. Highlights include Faure's tranquil "Cantique de Jean Racine"; Hoiby's contemporary organ exposition, "Let This Mind Be In You"; Palestrina's ageless "Sicut Cervus"; Mendelssohn's eight-voice German Mass segments, including a haunting subchorus in "Ehre sei Gott"; and Stanford's jubilant Easter anthem, "Ye Choirs of New Jerusalem."


Cantate Domino

  1. Make a Joyful Noise - Mechem
  2. Rise Up My Love - Willan
  3. Tenebrae Factae Sunt - Poulenc
  4. O Salutaris Hostia - Villette
  5. Hymne a la Vierge - Villette
  6. Psalm 46 - Weaver
Cantate Domino is the fourth CD release from the Liturgical Choir. It features a few of the contemporary pieces the choir prepared for their summer tour in Paris, including twentieth-century French composers Francis Poulenc and Pierre Villette.


Ave Maria

  1. Ave Maria - Robert Parsons
  2. Stabat Mater - G. P. da Palestrina
  3. Ave Maria - T. L. de Victoria
  4. Notre Dame, Our Mother - Casasanta/O'Donnell, CSC
  5. Hail, Holy Queen - Salve Regina Coelorum Descant - R. Hobby
Ave Maria is the fifth CD of the Liturgical Choir's collection of recordings. This collection includes Marian hymns and pieces dating from the Renaissance through the twentieth century. It also features the Notre Dame Women's Liturgical Choir and Basilica Schola.


And I Saw a New Heaven

  1. The Old Hundredth Psalm Tune - arr. Ralph Vaughan Williams
  2. Sing Unto God from Judas Maccabaeus - Georg Frideric Handel
  3. O How Amiable - Ralph Vaughan Williams
  4. Sacris Solemniis - Plainchant
  5. Vexilla Regis - Plainchant
  6. Ecce panis angelorum - Plainchant
  7. Panis Angelicus - G. P da Palestrina
  8. Super flumina Babylonis - Palestrina
  9. O bone Jesu - Palestrina
  10. O Though the Central Orb - Charles Wood
  11. Laudate Dominum - W.A. Mozart
  12. Laudate Pueri - W.A. Mozart
  13. Panis Angelicus - Cesar Franck
  14. Jubilate Deo Omnis Terra (Psalm 99) - Flor Peeters
  15. Let All Mortal Flesh Keep Silence - Edward Cuthbert Bairstow
  16. And I Saw a New Heaven - Edgar Bainton
  17. O God Beyond All Praising (Thaxted) - Robert A. Hobby
  18. Notre Dame, Our Mother - Casasanta/O'Donnell, CSC
And I Saw a New Heaven, the sixth recording of the Liturgical Choir features a diverse range of sacred music including several selections of plainchant, as well as works by Palestrina, Mozart, Ralph Vaughan Williams, and many others. The Liturgical Choir dedicates this album in loving memory of Gail Walton (1954-2010), founding director of the Liturgical Choir.
To order CDs online, please visit the Liturgical Choir's page at the ND Student Shop here.

copyright University of Notre Dame

University of Notre Dame Liturgical Choir
312 Coleman-Morse Center, Notre Dame, Indiana 46556
Phone: (574) 631-7800 Email:
Accessibility Information

copyright University of Notre Dame

University of Notre Dame Liturgical Choir
312 Coleman-Morse Center
Notre Dame, Indiana 46556
Phone: (574) 631-7800 Email:
Accessibility Information